BISHOP’S PALACE IN NYSA

This magnificent edifice, dating from the Austrian era, took over a century to construct, with works finally completed by Bishop Franz Ludwig von Neuburg in 1729. It is a four-winged Baroque structure centred around an inner courtyard. On the internal walls of the courtyard, visitors can admire three 18th-century sundials. The palace replaced an older Gothic castle that had previously served as the bishops' residence. It was the site of a historic meeting between the Austrian Emperor Joseph II and King Frederick II of Prussia. During the Napoleonic campaigns, Jérôme Bonaparte resided here. Following secularisation in 1810, the building served as a courthouse. Destroyed in 1945, it has housed the Nysa District Museum since 1984.